Spam or not ?

A place to introduce yourself, chat about anything and put forward suggestions.
Instructions on how to add your location and photographs.
Post Reply
silent shooter
FOUNDER
Posts: 1826
Joined: 14 Oct 2011, 10:30
Location: Reading, Berkshire

Spam or not ?

Post by silent shooter » 23 Oct 2019, 20:23

Hi to you all I've recieved an email from one of our members who recieved an email from the following address....
http://www.spamhaus.org/query/bl?ip=
It had his IP address saying it was a banned ip which obviously it is not and for some reason manages to stop him using our pm system.
I am quite concerned about the fact that anyone other than myself,Adam or John can take away pm's or maybe it is built into our security system.John is on the case and I thought I would put up a post to see if any members have come across this before on here or any other forum.

Thanks Geoff

jthyttin
Posts: 1661
Joined: 30 Jun 2014, 11:39
Location: Finland

Re: Spam or not ?

Post by jthyttin » 24 Oct 2019, 05:50

Not knowing details, maybe the user is behind some content filtering firewall (at work etc.) that's using external white/blacklisting for IPs and email relates to that?

silent shooter
FOUNDER
Posts: 1826
Joined: 14 Oct 2011, 10:30
Location: Reading, Berkshire

Re: Spam or not ?

Post by silent shooter » 24 Oct 2019, 07:37

jthyttin wrote:
24 Oct 2019, 05:50
Not knowing details, maybe the user is behind some content filtering firewall (at work etc.) that's using external white/blacklisting for IPs and email relates to that?
Yes that's what we are thinking as had it been to do with our security we should have got a board notification,thank you for your reply :thumbup:

Geoff

Post Reply