First low light/no light spotter

Show and tell for your homebrew nv projects. DIY 'Stickies' here too.
User avatar
MrNewbie
Posts: 298
Joined: 22 Dec 2012, 21:28
Location: Grafton, Ohio USA

First low light/no light spotter

Post by MrNewbie » 18 Dec 2015, 00:41

Recently I purchased a new gun, then realized I did not have a DSA to put on it, heck I want to play with the new gun.

So, a PVC pipe DSA add on with a E190 with and a T20, was ok to 80-100 yards. Just fine for air gun ranges.
I wanted a spotter rather than have to swing the gun around to see the field out back.
Lets grab a junk camera out of the spare junk camera bin and make a spotter.. many, most or all of us have a junk camera parts bin.
The selected camera was an Effio V, its what I had out of 2 or 3.

The Effio V is not a bad camera, but it stinks when we compare it to a E190,230 or the E700. The E230/E700 are the cameras to use on your gun, no doubt about it. This is not about the gun...Put whatever setup you like on the gun DSA/Scopeless, then turn it off!

Then, I had a thought.(very rare)
The human eye see's at around 20fps, our KCP cameras only do 50fps or 60fps.
Stupid..The lower the fps the more light the camera gets ( slow shutter photography) No slow shutter, no sense up.. I could not find it on my 230.


I need a spotter, I could care less about seeing 50fps or 60fps, I don't need to have super crisp video.
I just want to see if there is anything in the field to shoot. The effio V does that.
A frame ever second or 2 could tell me that !
This is what that Starlight cam.0000000008 lux stuff is about, useless on a gun because of the delay.
I cranked the Gain up to max, the shutter on a scale of (0-200)...170 My shutter is set at 128 FLD...not 170

I just played with this last night...I can only say it worked very well.
I would ask anyone with an effioV or effio e, or any other camera with slow shutter/sense up to play with it.
Grab your junk camera, throw a battery and a screen on it..see what happens.

This is what developed..

Day play walk around.. General idea, wireless stuff...
https://youtu.be/ZGzvffKwXEA

Night test.
sorry the audio and video are out of sync, I tried but could not fix.
At the start..i'm slow, at the end fast ...I tried
https://youtu.be/RooEEd-aAMQ
Last edited by MrNewbie on 18 Dec 2015, 11:29, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
chuckhunter
Posts: 127
Joined: 06 Feb 2014, 23:15
Location: USA

Re: First low light/no light spotter

Post by chuckhunter » 18 Dec 2015, 02:49

I like the way you could switch between cameras using that wireless monitor.
What monitor is that in the first video? Is it the VLCD5P 5" .
CH

User avatar
some bloke
TRADER MEMBER
Posts: 7544
Joined: 27 Jan 2012, 16:14
Location: Cornwall or Leicester

Re: First low light/no light spotter

Post by some bloke » 18 Dec 2015, 08:13

I've never used the 190 - does it not have an auto shutter/AGC setting in the menu?
Image

sedstar
Posts: 1354
Joined: 21 Apr 2013, 23:13
Location: across the pond, PA, the states...

Re: First low light/no light spotter

Post by sedstar » 18 Dec 2015, 08:58

if memory serves? its all "auto", and has no OSD menu and no settings... the immortal ROLAND went over it a bit in his "rail days" before scopeless got popular...
Well, I understand that, boys... but see, my CAT gets the silly idea you're making fun of HIM... then he gets, *really* mean...

User avatar
MrNewbie
Posts: 298
Joined: 22 Dec 2012, 21:28
Location: Grafton, Ohio USA

Re: First low light/no light spotter

Post by MrNewbie » 18 Dec 2015, 10:03

chuckhunter wrote:I like the way you could switch between cameras using that wireless monitor.
What monitor is that in the first video? Is it the VLCD5P 5" .
CH
Its like this one..I bought mine 2 years ago..
http://www.ebay.com/itm/5-LCD-Portable- ... 2a45db6446


It looks like I'm switching, but I am really not.

Think of it this way... the Wireless dvr is on all the time on channel 1
The spotting camera is on all the time,, but is at 5 yards away on channel 1 .. the dvr sees channel 1...the spotting camera
The gun too is on channel 1 it to has a vid transmitter, but its turned off right now.

You turn on the gun, since its transmitter is only 2 inches away, it blows right over the spotters signal.

gun on, dvr sees gun transmitter, gun off, dvr sees spotter cams transmitter

But, one does not need to have this wireless stuff, a junk bin camera that has shutter control, a battery, and 15 buck screen are it.
I'm into gadgets, the wireless setup has expansion potential, after all it is an 8 channel receiver.

X2 on Sedstars post, same chipset inside, no osd
Last edited by MrNewbie on 18 Dec 2015, 12:01, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
Ooops
Posts: 266
Joined: 29 Dec 2013, 06:28
Location: Hampshire but on walk about some where hot

Re: First low light/no light spotter

Post by Ooops » 18 Dec 2015, 10:23

What transmitters are you using?
The artist formerly known as Jethro

User avatar
MrNewbie
Posts: 298
Joined: 22 Dec 2012, 21:28
Location: Grafton, Ohio USA

Re: First low light/no light spotter

Post by MrNewbie » 18 Dec 2015, 10:25

Same crummy car back up cameras ones we have all been using for years...
Junk bin stuff

10 yards indoors
30 yards outside LOS...that's about the range

User avatar
Ooops
Posts: 266
Joined: 29 Dec 2013, 06:28
Location: Hampshire but on walk about some where hot

Re: First low light/no light spotter

Post by Ooops » 18 Dec 2015, 10:33

MrNewbie wrote:Same crummy car back up cameras ones we have all been using for years
Same supplier as the DVR??
The artist formerly known as Jethro

lightmesser
Posts: 555
Joined: 09 Jan 2014, 01:19
Location: Eastern Europe

Re: First low light/no light spotter

Post by lightmesser » 18 Dec 2015, 10:46

Hi Mr. Newbie.

I have Sonny effio V and some other cheap sens up cameras.

So in this setup you turn sens up function to 4x or more?


Edit: For this setup camera must be very still or motion blur will happen on the screen. So I guess tripod is must.

User avatar
MrNewbie
Posts: 298
Joined: 22 Dec 2012, 21:28
Location: Grafton, Ohio USA

Re: First low light/no light spotter

Post by MrNewbie » 18 Dec 2015, 11:00

Can't tell you on the sense up function, my effio v calls it FLD.

I get to its slow shutter function by going into the menu.

SCENE SELECT CUSTOM
SHUTTER/AGC MANUAL

My shutter is set at 128 FLD...not 170
AGC MAX at 44.8 DB


Well yes it must be still...

Its a simple trade off, more light = more latency/ time lag. Useless on a gun.

Post Reply