Hi there!

A place to introduce yourself, chat about anything and put forward suggestions.
Instructions on how to add your location and photographs.
jeroentjj

Hi there!

Post by jeroentjj » 26 Feb 2016, 13:25

Hello guys!
Since I played Splinter Cell Chaos theory for the first time, about 10 years ago, I've always wanted to build a set of night vision goggles. Currently I am a pruduct design student and with components etc getting cheaper since ever I think it would be a good time to finally realize that childhood dream. I've seen some builds of NV builds on for example youtube and instructables but they all feel quite thrown together. For my build I would like to replicate the original goggles of Sam Fisher. I plan to rip the actual 3D model, get some projection shots from it and remodel them for 3D printing.
As to the system itself, I've come across these video goggles with AV input:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/52-Screen-Virtu ... Sw4bVTmppu
For the camera's (<more on that later) I was thinking of something like this:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/MINI-CAMERA-W-N ... Swa-dWjVzV

Since you guys are way further in this, if I would use two cameras and can get these to show up next to eachother in the goggles, would depth perception be possible?

I'd love to hear your thoughts on this!

Cheers!

CustomRifleScopesUK

Re: Hi there!

Post by CustomRifleScopesUK » 29 Feb 2016, 22:43

Hello,

and welcome to the forum.

Great idea and i am going to be working on something similar as i want a helmet type setup with NV and an IR laser on my shotgun for night hunting
what ever my laser hits i hit with a 12g LOL

i also have a shop on here with lots of parts, so if you ever need something then visit the parts section. I do the best 640x480 near eye screens. Oh and just to let you know, don't use the duel screens, it gets disorientating and doesn't help in many ways, also ruins your own nightvision as too bright in both eyes !

Hope this helps Splatty

Radagast
junior librarian